Skip to content
March 30, 2014 / justinbatalden

Short Story (Part 6)

I turned around in a circle staring at my surroundings with my mouth slightly open. The grass and wildflowers reached up to the middle of my thighs. A breeze laden heavy with the scent of flowers and grass raced along the top of the field. The sky was bright and clear, with a few white clouds creeping along the horizon. I heard birds chirping from inside the grass calling to each other. I searched the surrounding horizon looking for some sort of obstruction to the continuing field and horizon.

My search resulted in finding nothing more just flowers and clouds. I sunk down into the grass holding my head.
“Ba-dump”. “Ba-dump”.
My head moved up and down with the beat of my heart pounding in my ears. I couldn’t imagine why I was here in this field. It felt great, it was peaceful, beautiful, a place where I felt at home, but I forgot of my past and what was happening to me.

My heart beat started to ebb away slowly become a normal noise and feeling of my body.

That didnt last for long though. I slowly raised my head keeping my eyes closed. I still did not believe that I was truly out of that chair. The more I thought about it the wind and sunshine that was supposed to brushing against my body did not feel refreshing or even warm. I couldn’t feel the sun beating down on my neck beating away at its defenses with it’s radiation. I slowly opened my eyes, and as if my heart didn’t want that to happen sent a gigantic pulse of blood through my body.
“BA-DUMP!”

This pulse made my whole body seem to jump up off of the ground. But then I noticed that my feet did not push off a soft grassy field but a hard cold surface. When my body seemed to come back down from it is pulse powered propulsion into the air. I felt the hard steel back of the chair I was sitting in. I heard the small metal groan of exasperation from the chair as my weight eased back into the seat. Then the drone of the cicadas filled my ears but they seeemed farther away and the buzzing if their wings wasn’t filling my head or overwhelming my senses. I slowly raised my head and looked the sunlight that streamed into my dark steel cage. A man stood in front of me with a small smile on his face.

Leave a Reply

