Skip to content
June 17, 2013 / justinbatalden

Short Story (Part 3)

The knocking stopped, my heart kept beating throughout my whole body.  My heavy breathing started to drown out the “Ba-dump” that was still ringing in my ears. I was surprised to have found myself curled on the floor with my hands wrapped around my head. I slowly uncurled my body and stood up shaking slightly. I stood with my head bent over clutching the table that was in the entryway trying to regain my strength.

I look at the door and see that a piece of paper was shoved, in a loose ball, underneath. I shuffle towards the door and clumsily bend over and grab the paper. I start to open the sheet of paper my hands shaking violently. I unfolded the piece of paper, and i see one word “False”. I look at both sides of the paper trying to find anything else, but the word “False” was the only thing on the piece of paper.

I stood up quickly looking through the glass over the door, no one was there. I quietly opened the door and poked my head out of the door and looked down the the empty hallway. I kept looking for a couple more minutes and then went back into my apartment and quietly closed the door. I leaned my back against the door and stared the word on the piece of paper.

The word grabbed my attention and wouldn’t let it go. Soon all that was occupying my mind, the constant hard pulse of my heart and the word “False” flashing in my mind. I couldn’t understand what the message meant. What did the person mean when he gave me the message? What could have possibly been false? I couldn’t have guessed what the man was telling me. If only I could have understood what that message meant and I probably would have changed the outcome of what my life would become now.

I gave up on trying to figure out what the message meant. I figured I would learn soon what it was supposed to mean. I walked out of my apartment and closed the door. I started to lock my dead bolt, but then I stopped. I saw that on my door was another note. It was written in a black marker. All it said was “Life”.

Leave a Reply

